Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Alternator

  1. #1
    Alternator
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Binghamton, NY
    Posts
    229
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rides
    0

    Default Alternator

    My alternator was bouncing all over, from 8 volts to 16 volts and decided to replace it. Put in a rebuilt one and now it is holding steady at about 12+ volts. Is this about right? I recall that before the first one went bad it was at 13 volts, is it possible to get bad one. I purchased a heavy duty one which is 70 amps and that is what is called for.

    I appreciate your input.
    Chuck

  2. #2
    Dave L.
    Guest

    Default

    Chuck - My guage reads 13-14. I also have the 70A alt option on my car.

    Dave

  3. #3
    Member iron cross's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Dearborn Mi.
    Posts
    245
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rides
    0

    Default

    Voltage should read from 13.6 to 14.4 when running! Amps is merely the output of the unit to run accessories. Not all Vettes have high amp alternators.

  4. #4
    Member Nut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bowie, MD
    Posts
    890
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rides
    0

    Default

    Chuck.... mine runs around 14+. I put a 85amp alt in it last year after 21 years with the OEM 63 amp unit.

    ............ Nut
    Tanned, rested and
    Retired in the Peoples Republic of MD

  5. #5
    Alternator
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Binghamton, NY
    Posts
    229
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rides
    0

    Default

    Thanks for the replies, mine is about 13 amps and decays to about 12.5 while driving. No starting problems or any other noticable things but I think that I got another 63 amp alternator not the 70 amp I asked for.

    Chuck

  6. #6
    vettenick
    Guest

    Default

    A quick check if the alternator is up to the task is to monitor the voltage after you've turned all of your items on; headlights, a/c, rear defogger, etc. If the voltage drops below 12.8 volts, you have a problem. If the voltage stays up where it should, then it's able to produce all the amps your car needs.

  7. #7
    Member 81 Corvette's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Toledo
    Posts
    525
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rides
    0

    Default

    quick side questions...where does the guage connect into the system. Mine had a bad connection someplace, as it often sits dead left but the car runs fine.

  8. #8
    vettenick
    Guest

    Default

    The voltmeter is mounted on a printed circuit board behind the cluster lens. From there, it gets its power from the gauge fuse and it's connected through a pink/black wire. The other connection(its ground) is through a black wire that's grounded to the instrument panel ground. The ground location is on the driver's door hinge post right above the courtesy light switch.

  9. #9
    Member 81 Corvette's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Toledo
    Posts
    525
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rides
    0

    Default

    thanks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •