Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: 200r4 control

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Marysville,In
    Posts
    29
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rides
    0

    Default 200r4 control

    I need to know how to control lockup on my 200r4 with my 81 computer.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    121
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rides
    0

    Default

    hello i saw this topic on another site. i hope no one minds me refering you to another corvette site but im just trying to help ya out. look in here...
    DigitalCorvettes.com - C3 Corvette - Technical/General
    you may need to register to search but there are some knowlegable people there who use the 200r4. id register and ask someone there. youll get your answer.

  3. #3
    Moderator bill81vette's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Troy,NY
    Posts
    4,037
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rides
    0

    Default

    Do a 'search'
    Bob Chadwick had put one in his vette a few years ago. the info your looking for may be in there!!!
    Bill and Gail...save the wave
    NCRS member 42415
    1981 St.Louis car #2735
    all matching numbers

    born Sept 18,1980
    Cruisefest 2008
    Cruisefestous 2009
    Cruisefest 2010
    Cruisefest 2011
    Cruisefest2012



    Without Trucks......
    You would be Hungry,Homeless and Naked!!!!!!



  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,497
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rides
    0

    Default

    As far as I know the lockup will work on the normal 2nd? and 3th gear. The only problem is that the lockup for the overdrive works with through a different ECM terminal that the 81 doesn't have (82 does). That is what I found out for my 700R4 so I think the 200R4 will be the same.

    But Bowtie overdrives has a wiringkit to correct this problem and to let the lockup function without the ecm.

    Groeten Peter

  5. #5
    Moderator KANE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    KY
    Posts
    3,230
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rides
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by equineman View Post
    I need to know how to control lockup on my 200r4 with my 81 computer.
    I think you can control the lock up on the 200R4 with the 81 ECM.

    If memory serves me right, the 81 has the TH350-C, which has a lock up function. You'll need to get a new pigtail (specific to the 200R4/700R4) and splice it in. Consult a shop manual for both the 81 and an 82 paying special attention to the circuit between the brake switch, ECM, and the tranny.
    1982 Chevrolet Corvette , 350 2k RPM Stall Converter + Updgraded Transmission + Governor Set For 5,450rpm Shifts 3.73 Code 42 Dark Mettalic Blue with a twist

  6. #6
    Member Sensei's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Jacksonville, Fl
    Posts
    393
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rides
    0

    Default

    If I remember correctly, I just plugged the original Th350c connector into my TH700r4 and it works. The ECM just sends 12v through a switch on the brake pedal and on to the tranny plug. If the 2004r uses the same pin lay out, it should work.

    God bless, Cris

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,497
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rides
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sensei View Post
    If I remember correctly, I just plugged the original Th350c connector into my TH700r4 and it works. The ECM just sends 12v through a switch on the brake pedal and on to the tranny plug. If the 2004r uses the same pin lay out, it should work.

    God bless, Cris
    That is correct only the 81 uses 3 of the 4 terminals that go into the automatic the 4th terminal is used to control the lockup for the 4th gear. So in this situation lockup will work in 2nd and 3rd but not in 4th. But now I think of it, it couldn't be to hard to correct this problem

    ps. At the time I looked at my 81 and the 82 manual from a friend of mine to find this out.

    Groeten Peter

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Marysville,In
    Posts
    29
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rides
    0

    Default

    I guess my biggest question is what the three prongs in the transmission plug do? Thanks for all the great information so far. Since Sensei hooked me up with the OTC scanner I do know the ECM is trying to lock up the torque converter.

Similar Threads

  1. Active Handling/ABS Warning Light
    By sandmanmd in forum C5 Technical and Performance
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 05-11-06, 10:32 PM
  2. C4 power not catalysed of origin
    By pat68 in forum C4 Technical and Performance
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 03-02-06, 12:39 AM
  3. My new 95
    By FX3FX3 in forum C4 General Discussion
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 10-27-04, 11:02 PM
  4. 1984 - Z-51 suspension???
    By sasquatch in forum C4 Technical and Performance
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-27-04, 01:56 PM
  5. ML9 or MN6 manual trans difference
    By Paul G in forum C4 General Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-01-04, 04:00 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •