$projecthp
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Corvette(s)
    1986 Z51 (Al heads), Auto
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rides

Default What is normal...safe operating temp?

I have an 86 with aluminum heads and the heavy duty radiator. I have only had the car a few days and ran it only in the driveway (Long story why). I noticed that the temp was hovering around 230ish and peaked at 240 and I shutdown immediately. There is plenty of fluid and the fan was running no a/c on. This seamed a little hot to me but I am a newbie so it may be jitters. When should I be REALLY concerned about the temp?

Also (and this is cheating a bit as I did not mention in the title), is it normal to have a 30 psi oil pressure swing?

Thanks

WNH

The main fan is controlled by the ECM [the electronic control module] and it starts the electric main fan at about 228.
    Also, the auxilary fan kicks in at about 238.
    Other members can correct me if I'm wrong.
    Anyway it should not go too far above 240, that's too hot.
    Start by checking when both your fans start, let it idle till it gets hot, look at your dash coolant temp.& see exactly when they start.

limomanb

And yes....my Oil pressure swings from the low 30's to the mid 60's...quite normal.

Corvette(s)
    87 Gold Z52 Coupe 02 EB Z51 Supercharged Coupe
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rides

One of the most common problems with C4 cooling is debris clogging the radiator. Cooling air come up from the bottom and all sorts of junk can be picked up; paper, leaves, twigs, Hondas... You should be able to look at the front of the radiator by looking thru the gaps in the radiator shroud on the passenger side.

Use a hose to direct a stram of water from the fan side through the fins. Also check the front of the A/C condensor by looking at it from under the car.