Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    EEvette

Default Very strange starting

Hello everyone,

I am what i like to call strange starting issues. I am by no means an expert but this problem is driving me nuts.
    First a few things ive done to try and solve the problem.
    1) New Fuel pump/filter
    2) New IAC valve
    3) New exhaust system (no restriction issues)

Ok so this is what happens, I first turn the switch to start the car and it cranks for maybe four or five seconds and then starts. I have noticed that if I turn the switch and let go right away, at the second try it starts like a champ.

Please help like im sure everyone here has, Ive invested quite some money on this car.....its all worth it when it runs though!

Corvette(s)
    1995 Dark Red 6spd Convertible
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rides

I think you have a fuel pressure leak down issue.

Check pressure at the schrader valve on the fuel rail.

EEvette

Thanks Jim

I will do so.....I also forgot to mention that once it starts it idles perfectly.

Oh, and I have a wet kit nitrous system on it...I have not used it yet, but the test port is connected to the fuel soleniod on the kit. I doubt this has anything to do with it but mind as well make mention of it.

Corvette(s)
    1989 Red Coupe
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rides

EEvette, Disconnect the injectors and measure resistance and report back. They should all be very close to each other (in the 16 ohm range). Also, is your ECM EPROM the stock EPROM or was it customized? In 1989 GM added a longer delayed start to increase the crank time, improving starting oil pressure. 1989 EPROM code is a popular base to customize from because of the higher timing advanced curves vs. prior years and the elimination of the 9th injector used for cold start.

EEvette

TedC,