$projecthp
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    1987Silvervette

Default Royal Purple oil

Ok vettadicts,

I am considering switching my new 355 over from a base 10-30w oil to the royal pruple synthetic. My 355 has about 1000 miles on it, would yall recomend this switch of not????

Moonunit 451

Royal Purple is supposed to be good, but why not just use Mobil One? You can find it at decent prices at places like Costco or Walmart in multiquart doses.

Lots of info here if you're interested

http://theoildrop.server101.com/cgi/ultimatebb.cgi

Corvette(s)
    '90 coupe (gone) '96 CE LT4 Z51
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rides

There are a lot of bikers at work and they all use Royal Purple. Supposed to be good stuff. I've been using Mobil 1 in all my vehicles for about 15 yrs now. Ever since GM recommended Mobil 1 for all the ZR1's. Seems like there was a placcard or something that said use only Mobil 1.

Corvette(s)
    2003 Z06
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rides

I use Mobil 1, a lot of Vette' guys go with Mobil 1. Don't forget to use a good oil filter, ie. anything but FRAM. Preferably Mobil 1, K&N, Delco or Purolator Pure One.

Corvette(s)
    1986 White Coupe w all options.
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rides

Its supposed to be really good, I've considered switching to it before.

Any synthetic is fine though.

taegdh

From my own personal experience and what I've read, now at 1000 to 5000 miles after you've rebuilt the engine, is THE time to switch to the synthetic base oils if that is your intention.

Reasoning: You now have had the time to let the rings, bearings and valve system get "broken in" but no over done the tolerances. Make certain that you drain all of the old oil out of the engine, and use a HIGH QUALITY oil filter.