$projecthp
  • Tired of trying to diagnose my transmission issues with it leaking.

Post Thanks / Like
    Rides

Default Tired of trying to diagnose my transmission issues with it leaking.

Hey all, this is my first time posting on this forum. Last summer I bought my first corvette. Since I got it, Iíve been having issues with it leaking badly. Iím 16 so Iím new to doing work like this. If I drove it long enough it would run completely out of fluid, which doesnít make sense to me because my pan itself isnít leaking(not a cooler line either.) Again Iím 16 and Iím new to working on cars, but I bought this car specifically to work on and not pay someone else to do the work for me. Well anyway, I replaced the trans filter and gasket. I knew it wasnít the smartest thing to do, but I connected a 3/8Ē hose the the Ďsending cooler lineí that went to the radiator and turned the car on to drain the fluid. By doing that I fear I just blew my front seal possibly. Instead of leaking from the gasket onto the splash shield, itís consistently pouring out of the splash shieldhole. I have a friend who has a shop with a lift and I was wondering if I should even bother replacing the seal, if thatís even the main issue. I donít think Iíll be able to diagnose it myself, and itís best left to a professional, but nobody is going to tell me whatís wrong with it and let me repair it myself anyway. I donít have 1500 for a new transmission until I know for sure mine is blown. So until then I want to keep trying. Any way to further diagnose it without taking it out? Again it leaks fluid like crazy upon startup. Thanks for any and all help. Happy new year.

Corvette(s)
    03 Z-51,78 L82 Coupe
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rides

It's not uncommon for the front seal to start leaking on a older transmission, Don't run it dry though, Catastrophic Damage will result!

Welcome to CAC !
    Last edited by gmjunkie; 01-01-20 at 07:35 PM.