PDA

View Full Version : Hi From North Carolina, and power window advise needed

DawnJ
07-09-07, 05:33 PM
Hi All,
I am a newbie to this site (love it so far) and a newbie to owning a Corvette (FINALLY!!!) I just got back from Chicago, I bought a friend's 1994 black on black Coupe. He babied it, kept it in the garage and under car cover - it is in immaculate shape and had only 23,100 miles on it. I have been after him for a year and a half to buy this car - he got a new 2007 Z06 a few months ago. I love this car, have always wanted a 'Vette.

I have only one problem and I am sure there is an answer that I just don't know about. The power windows were working fine when I got it (4 days ago), on the drive from Illinois to NC the passenger side out of the blue would not roll down. This morning I took it out for a drive put it in the garage and when I went to get in it this afternoon the driver's window would not roll up (I had left it down). I am not sure what the heck is going on, if there is a safety lock or something I couldn't find in the owner's manual. I love the car and hate to run off to a dealership if it is something my husband could maybe fix. Ideas or suggestions are very welcome. I have been looking at the knowledge base but no luck yet. Anyway, I love this site and am loving my 'Vette.

Dawn
North Carolina

Erik S. Klein
07-09-07, 05:48 PM
Hello and welcome to the CAC!

Congrats on your new Vette!

I'll let a C4 expert chime in on the PW issue. ;)

Enjoy!

:Steer

GS Diva
07-09-07, 05:52 PM
Dawn,

Welcome! I love seeing more women getting their own Corvettes!! You'll love it here.

My first thought about your window problem is the motor. I've had to replace a couple of those in my Corvette lifetime, but I'll let someone with more expertise chime in.

Elaine

jhecox
07-09-07, 06:16 PM
Welcome to the :CAC Dawn.

The motor is usually the culprit, but 2 in within a couple of days would make one wonder. I'm sure a C4 Expert will have some ideas.