PDA

View Full Version : C6 engine



UB2 SLOW
04-10-04, 02:05 PM
Can anybody tell me what the Silver thing is sticking out of the Throttle Body?


http://www.exoticcarsite.com/pictures/Cars/chevrolet/corvette_c6/chevrolet_corvette_c6-12.jpg

c4c5specialist
04-10-04, 06:41 PM
HI there,
That is the new design motor for the throttle actuation system.
This is a better, more progressive design, with lower electrical demand.
Allthebest, c4c5:hb

UB2 SLOW
04-11-04, 01:23 AM
Thanks, Why is it better?

c4c5specialist
04-11-04, 06:54 AM
HI there,
First, it does not take alot of electricity to operate it. It also is engineered with better internal components and is made to operate with the newest PCM that includes a TAC control module within the casing.
Allthebest, c4c5:hb

ROCKETBLOCK
04-11-04, 02:31 PM
As always, great detailed information c4c5spec! YOU DA MAN!:upthumbs

LongTimer
04-15-04, 12:51 PM
HI there,
First, it does not take alot of electricity to operate it. It also is engineered with better internal components and is made to operate with the newest PCM that includes a TAC control module within the casing.
Allthebest, c4c5:hb
Like Rocket says, you KNOW the how and what! They boast about improved air intake on the LS2. In your opinion, is it likely that aftermarket air intakes, K&N filters and a Hypertech programmers will combine to improve otherwise stock LS2s the way they did for the LS1s?

c4c5specialist
04-15-04, 07:15 PM
Like Rocket says, you KNOW the how and what! They boast about improved air intake on the LS2. In your opinion, is it likely that aftermarket air intakes, K&N filters and a Hypertech programmers will combine to improve otherwise stock LS2s the way they did for the LS1s?Hi there,
While air cleaners and couplers are not usually a problem, the programming will be a little way off.
If you reference the diagram attached, the GMLAN communications systems is substantially different from what we have now in c5 with the Class 2 data line.
All systems are wired one after the other, which in turn, create problems when programming. With c6, we have to use an interfacing module to shut down the other modules, so that we can effectively program the PCM. As you can see, it is the last computer in the line, so the information has to travel through all the other modules before it gets to the PCM.
On c5, all that had to be done was to install a separator box, to isolate the PCM, and it was done.
I dont think it will be that simple for aftermarket programmers.
Can it be done??? I think it will be.
Now, how long will it take????? That is the question.
Allthebest, c4c5:hb