PDA

View Full Version : Bose Stereo Activation Code: What is it?



JC4
04-09-04, 05:01 PM
While reading my owner's manual to my recently purchased '93 the other day, I noticed it said that anytime the stereo is disconnected from the battery, the stereo will deactivate (or something like that) and that you will need to restore its function by entering the activation code. Sorry, I can't remember exactly what the manual said and I don't have it in front of me to check the exact wording.

My question: the manual did not give any clue as to where I can obtain this code or how to enter it. If I disconnect the battery to change it out, will the stereo cease to function? :confused Thanks for any help !

Jeffvette
04-09-04, 05:08 PM
It will only do it if a code has been entered into the stereo to lock it. The dealership never sets the code. It's a owner option.

JC4
04-09-04, 05:20 PM
Thanks for the reply. How can you determine if the previous owner entered a code to lock it and where can you obtain info on how to set it yourself, if desired? I could find nothing in the owner's manual.




It will only do it if a code has been entered into the stereo to lock it. The dealership never sets the code. It's a owner option.

Corvette-Pilot
04-11-04, 06:49 PM
I never heard of this option ??

I pulled mine out to upgrade the whole system. Hope I don't have to put it back someday.

Jeffvette
04-12-04, 01:38 AM
Thanks for the reply. How can you determine if the previous owner entered a code to lock it and where can you obtain info on how to set it yourself, if desired? I could find nothing in the owner's manual.
Not sure. But the dealer will be able to unlock it for you, or I believe one of the radio repair shops may as well. I never set any of mine,and none of my friends have, so doubt very many did it.

Rabbit
04-12-04, 10:05 AM
My 90 had that system. It contained a 6 number code that was entered in to the radio to render it useless if it was stolen. I found out the hard way after disconnecting the battery & when I hooked it up, no radio. Cost $60.00 bucks for the dealer to call the factory & have the system neutralized. Never used it after that experience. As I recall the info for entering the code was in the owner's manual. :L

DkBG
04-12-04, 02:24 PM
If a code has been set , a red light will flash when you turn off the ignition . This tells thieves that the radio is code protected and it may be easier for them to go to another car to rob . If the power is interupted (or sometimes even if it's not ) the radio will lock up . Mine has done this three times now . If you have the code , you follow the instructions in your owners manual . If not , you can pay the dealer and hope it doesn't happen again or you can go to www.radio-code.com (http://www.radio-code.com) and for a price they will take care of you . They will tell you how to get a number out of your radio , that you will send them . They check to make sure the car is registered to you (somehow) and then they will send you the factory unlock code for that particular radio . Then you can unlock it and put your own code in or leave it unprotected . I left mine unprotected . The thing about doing it yourself is you will always have the code if it locks up again .(if you write it down ,duh !) Cliff

tropik24
04-12-04, 03:35 PM
Hey Guy, If you don,t have the code this is the procedure it works like a charm, used it myself1. Turn th ignition ON (The radio displays LOC)
2. Hold down the Radio Presets 2 and 3 for six seconds.
3. The radio display changes from LOC to a three-digit number. Write this number down. Don't take forever, fifteen seconds max before the next step.
4. Press the AM/FM button
5. The radio display chnanges to another trhee-digit number. Write this number to the right of the first one.
6. You now have a six-digit number, the first three digits are from Step 3 and the last three digits are from Step 5.
7. Call 1 800 537 5140.
8. Press 1 then # (pound). You'll hear "Invalid Code, try again".
9. Press 139010 then # (pound). You will be asked to enter your four or six digit code followed by *.
10 Enter the number from Step 6 then * (Star)
11. Listen to the four-digit number and write it down. It will be repeated twice.
12. Turn the ignition ON (The radio displays LOC)
13. Use the MN and HR buttons to enter the code from Step 11
14 Press the AM/FM button. The radio display changes to SEC.

DkBG
04-12-04, 05:47 PM
JC4 . Try that and let us know if it works for you . I will definately write that down , if it does. Cliff

Likecars
01-08-05, 07:48 PM
Hey Guy, If you don,t have the code this is the procedure it works like a charm, used it myself1. Turn th ignition ON (The radio displays LOC)
2. Hold down the Radio Presets 2 and 3 for six seconds.
3. The radio display changes from LOC to a three-digit number. Write this number down. Don't take forever, fifteen seconds max before the next step.
4. Press the AM/FM button
5. The radio display chnanges to another trhee-digit number. Write this number to the right of the first one.
6. You now have a six-digit number, the first three digits are from Step 3 and the last three digits are from Step 5.
7. Call 1 800 537 5140.
8. Press 1 then # (pound). You'll hear "Invalid Code, try again".
9. Press 139010 then # (pound). You will be asked to enter your four or six digit code followed by *.
10 Enter the number from Step 6 then * (Star)
11. Listen to the four-digit number and write it down. It will be repeated twice.
12. Turn the ignition ON (The radio displays LOC)
13. Use the MN and HR buttons to enter the code from Step 11
14 Press the AM/FM button. The radio display changes to SEC.

What an incredible resource this forum is.

Went through the battery acid issue today. When all was swapped out and completed, figures the previous owner had set up the anti-thief! Figured the forum would have something useful and it did. Great post.