PDA

View Full Version : Interior Lights Flashing... HELP!

bart15
04-04-04, 03:58 PM
I am new to this Corvette site but some of you may recognize me, and the following post. I have searched all the archives I can find here and I didn't see anything, so if this is redundant I apologize.

I have a 84 that has developed the problem of flashing interior lights after I run the car. It is a mechanical flashing (by that I mean the flashing is predictable in frequency and duration) of all of the interior lights that starts immediately after turning the car off. The only way I can get the flashing to stop is by disconnecting the battery.

I've heard suggestions that the problem might be related to the car alarm, but I only have the factory system and as I can best remember the last time I set it off it was the exterior lights flashing with the horn blowing. I am inclined to think it isn't a alarm malfunction, but I have been wrong once or twice in the last half hour.:)

The car has always had varying degrees of ground problems in the past but as part of the stereo install and now this subsequent flashing light thing I have been cleaning all of the grounds I can find. None of the cleaning has helped either the flashing (or my ground loop stereo noise but that is a subject for a different thread).

As additional information I have recently installed a new stereo but this problem started about a week or two after the install. That install might be related to this problem but I can't imagine it is.

If anyone has had this problem I would greatly appreciate help with a solution. Or if you've got ideas I would love to hear what you think might get me out of this problem.

:w Thanks

spyysee
04-04-04, 04:53 PM
wow...I feel your pain...while I didn't have exactly the same problem, mine was intermittent interior light blinking, staying off etc, I had to replace the delay module behind the passanger side dash.