PDA

View Full Version : ebay Ripoffs BEWARE!!!!!!


miskowitch
10-17-04, 03:56 AM
I was surfing ebay for old Corvettes and I found some fabulous deals. If it looks too good to be true it probably is! People's accounts are being stolen and someone is trying to sell

LIke this 1953 Vette great condition $20,000:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=2495074033&category=6173

I know this is fake because I know the car! It is listed on a website that I support. They used my pictures! Look at www.corvettecenterusa.com (http://www.corvettecenterusa.com/) Look familiar?

1962, $7,000

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=2495127975&category=6168

1955, $9,000

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=2495127975&category=6168

The common features of all these are:
- A price too good to be true
- Recent sale of car (sometimes they slightly alter the photo)
- Always a buy it now option
- Always private.

Be careful!!!!

I posted it here because it was a for sale issue, but please move it as necessary.

Thanks.

Yoda
10-17-04, 09:43 AM
I hope you have contacted the folks at Ebay about this...

Never ceases to amaze me what some people will do :mad SOMEONE is always trying to make a quick $$$ at the expense of someone else :mad

Update us if you can with what happens.

Thanks
Bud

unleadedbrew
10-17-04, 10:13 AM
I was surfing ebay for old Corvettes and I found some fabulous deals. If it looks too good to be true it probably is! People's accounts are being stolen and someone is trying to sell

LIke this 1953 Vette great condition $20,000:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=2495074033&category=6173

I know this is fake because I know the car! It is listed on a website that I support. They used my pictures! Look at www.corvettecenterusa.com (http://www.corvettecenterusa.com/) Look familiar?

1962, $7,000

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=2495127975&category=6168

1955, $9,000

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=2495127975&category=6168

The common features of all these are:
- A price too good to be true
- Recent sale of car (sometimes they slightly alter the photo)
- Always a buy it now option
- Always private.

Be careful!!!!

I posted it here because it was a for sale issue, but please move it as necessary.

Thanks.
These are becoming quite common lately........eBay usually has them pulled before the day is over, tho. It still amazes me that some will still believe it's for real. :(

Gordon :w

warren s
10-17-04, 10:28 AM
Dammm. For those prices i was going to buy them all

Edmond
10-17-04, 10:50 AM
It's not just the car world, but the guitar world as well. For guitars, they're always a seller from across the pond and the only form of payment they accept is a wire transfer.

Ken
10-17-04, 03:24 PM
Never ceases to amaze me what some people will do :mad SOMEONE is always trying to make a quick $$$ at the expense of someone else :mad
Bud, we just weren't made for this world. :(

miskowitch
10-17-04, 11:23 PM
I reported all three to ebay. But I'm sure they posted them over the weekend hoping no one is responding to stolen ebay accounts over the weekend.

Rain
10-18-04, 01:43 AM
all of them are invalid items now.. Ebay caught up

SPANISHVETTS
10-18-04, 04:25 AM
I have made hundreds of purchases on eBay and only been ripped-off 2 times once for $25. (Who cares) and once for $950. (I care) The eBay and PayPal buyer protection programs were about as useful as **** on a bore hog. I bought a Tablet PC that was intentionally miss-advertised. The tablet PC that I received had ½ the memory, 1/3 the HD and Win2000 instead of the advertised XP. After 6 months eBay arranged a $100 refund from the seller. The Tablet is useless to me because the HD is not large enough to run my Apps so it sits on my shelf as a reminder ¨buyer beware¨

Outside of these two problems I have always been happy with eBay and continue to buy there often but now I am much more (i.e.$975 worth) more cautious.

miskowitch
10-18-04, 12:30 PM
I've bought and sold quite a few items without any problems. For fun I asked the fake seller a few questions about his car. Pretty obvious ripoff.


Here is his replay:

Hello there,
Thank you for your interest in purchasing my item .
First of all I must inform you that currently I'm in Portugal and the machine is here with me .My faher, who died two keeks ago was the first owner of the car; He bought it directly from a local dealership in Ohio. The machine is in great condition ,only 21900 miles on it,no damage,no scratches or dents, no hidden defects,keept in our own garage. The machine is an US model with US specs,it passed the test emissions and comes with all the documents you need to register the item. It has a clear title and it can be registerd into your name. I recently ordered a new car from a dealer down here and i need the cash in the next few days to pay for it. The price I hope to obtain is $9,000 USD (this price includes the shipping and insurance) and if you agree with this price we can start to complete the transaction. I have to tell you that I have other serious
offers that I
have to consider and I will make a decision regarding this sale function of time of payment and price. i will shipp the car using KLM 5-7 air days delivery, and i will cover all
taxes.
We can make this COD, but if you want to keep the car for you, then you have to make a down deposit with 3,000 USD. So email me back if you ae intersted and you have the cash. The car will be shipped from Portugal and i will cover the shipping costs and insurance.You will not have to pay additional taxes,just only the price for it. Let me know!

---------------------------------------------------
The theif has some interesting, almost entertaining wording.

- He refers to the Corvette as machine.
- No dents, wonder if he realizes the car is fiberglass...
- Lots of grief, his father died two weeks ago and he's already buying a new car.
- He's going to ship the car via air from Portugal.

Edmond
10-18-04, 12:44 PM
If you use PayPal, will they protect you?

I had an incident a couple years ago with a software company that tried to rip me off for $600. I used PayPal to place an order and they stopped answering my phone calls and stopped replying to my e-mails. I reported this to PayPal and they investigated it. So I placed another order with them using a different e-mail and a former address. They responded to my "order" with a confirmation e-mail and telling me where to send the money to. I printed all that stuff out and sent them a copy through the mail along with a nice letter stating that I had contacted PayPal about this and that I would not hesitate to contact an attorney.

My money was refunded back to me in 2 weeks.

That time, PayPal worked for me. It was a long time (at least for me because it was my money) but the system worked.

DarkShark
10-21-04, 04:27 AM
We can make this COD, but if you want to keep the car for you, then you have to make a down deposit with 3,000 USD. So email me back if you ae intersted and you have the cash. The car will be shipped from Portugal and i will cover the shipping costs and insurance.You will not have to pay additional taxes,just only the price for it. Let me know!

The theif has some interesting, almost entertaining wording.

- He refers to the Corvette as machine.
- No dents, wonder if he realizes the car is fiberglass...
- Lots of grief, his father died two weeks ago and he's already buying a new car.
- He's going to ship the car via air from Portugal.
Fishy sounding alright.... but I don't think its fishy because of the "no dents" remark. Its not uncommon to find someone who walks into the ownership of a Vette and HAS NO CLUE about the car........

That being said, its the manner of the transaction as the seller describes it. Sounds awfully wordy in an attempt to gain your confidence. BUY NOW- PAY LATER!!! Sounds like a scam.

SPANISHVETTS
10-22-04, 05:18 AM
The next one of these comes up in Portugal or somewhere else in Europe contact the seller and arrange for you European Agent (me) to inspect the car. I will bet that the car will suddenly become already sold.;) If not I will go look at it.:upthumbs

smook
10-22-04, 07:24 AM
All the corvettes are from Portugal. !!!


:L -Bill.

SPANISHVETTS
10-23-04, 03:53 AM
All the corvettes are from Portugal. !!!


:L -Bill.
Any where in Portugal is less than 4 hours away By Bike or Vette! The roads are good and the road-side food is great.:D Good excuse for a road trip!;)